The soloist, Everett W. Hall, is Professor of Philosophy and Head of the Philosophy Department at the State University of Iowa. The accompanist, and composer of the songs, and of all the lyrics except those of "Conant, Compton and Baruch", is Arthur Roberts, of the Physics Department at the State University of Iowa. The chorus consists of members of the Physics Department: Professors John A. Eldridge and Joseph M. Jauch, and graduate students L. J. Luft, Milton Moon, Charles A. Wert, H. Bruce Phillips, and Carlton Schrader. The words to "Conant, Compton and Baruch" were written by Professor William Greene of the M. I. T. English Department.

The recordings were made at the studios of Station WMT, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, on December 23, 1947.


"The Cyclotronist's Nightmare" was written in 1939, and is the only one of this series that has been previously recorded. "It Ain't the Money" (1944) was written on the occasion of the award of the Nobel Prize in Physics to I. I. Rabi, and was first performed (by J. B. Platt) at a dinner in his honor of the Radiation Laboratory at Cambridge in December of that year. "Placement" (1945) was written just after the end of the war, when the Radiation Laboratory at M. I. T. was in process of placing its personnel in new jobs. "Take Away Your Billion Dollars" (1946) was written while the Brookhaven National Laboratory was being planned. It is held in some quarters that the ten billion volt accelerator now being considered at Brookhaven was plagiarized from this song. "Conant, Compton and Baruch" is from the operetta "Weather or Not", or "Snow for Uncle Joe" by Katherine Bolt, William Greene, and Arthur Roberts, which was given by the M.I.Tinerants at Cambridge in 1942. Finally, "How Nice to be a Physicist" was commissioned by Mariette Kuper for the Radiation Laboratory reunion party held during the Washington meetings of the American Physical Society in May, 1947


Any resemblance to existing persons or institutions is entirely malicious and premeditated.